Mothering

For the last few weeks I have been trying to formulate and put into writing how I feel about parenting “theories” and the little mommy “wars” that seem to be raging in both the online and real world.

There is an air of superiority that seems to penetrate any group of mothers of two or more. I have come to realize that mothers are about the most judgemental group of people that live (that and mother’s of new mothers). This has really been bothering me. I have noticed this trait in myself as I have sat on my own throne and decided who “is” and who “isn’t” a good mother. I’ve stopped myself a couple times and I’ve had to ask myself why I am doing this. Am I a perfect mother? I can rest assure you I am not. So why in the world would I expect someone else to be a perfect mother? Why do we have this obsession with judging the parenting of another. I am still working on really assessing my own shortcomings in this area and what is really fueling this habit.

I went online today and lo and behold there was a fabulous email that was better able to verbalize what I have been pondering and concluding for the last several weeks. I will post that email here. I did not write it but it echo’s my sentiments perfectly.

I hope that anyone who reads it takes it to heart. I also hope that any mother who reads it realizes that they are a good mother.

Here it is:

“I have been thinking a lot lately about this whole mothering thing. This somehow sacred ideal that there is a perfect way to mother, and that women who deviate from this method are somehow inferior.No matter what your taste, you can read a study or a book by a self-proclaimed expert who will back you up. Want to Attachment Parent? Read this book! Want to Cry it Out? Read this book! Want to use cloth diapers? Read this study! Want to use a bottle? Here’s what this doctor says! Circumcision? Well the latest statistic says . . .

The Latest Studies show. Talk about a phrase that should be removed from all languages. 30 years ago The Latest Studies showed that bottle-feeding and starting solids at 3 weeks and using disposable diapers was the best way to raise your child. Today, The Latest Studies show that breastfeeding and starting solids after 9 months and using cloth diapers are the best way to raise your child. The Latest Studies don’t ever agree with each other, because if they did, there would be no more money given out to actually do studies, and there would be no money made in writing books.

Most of us survive childhood intact. Sure, we complain. Sure we trot out our parents’ mistakes and brandish them with a vengeance as proof of our suffering. Sure we rant and rave, promising ourselves and anyone else that listens that we will be different, that we will never be the same kind of mother as our own second-rate one.

And yes, there is such a thing as bad mothering.

But.

Bad mothering is not using disposable diapers. Bad mothering is not using bottles and formula. Bad mothering is not putting a baby into a crib and letting the baby cry until she learns to sleep on her own. Bad mothering is not giving the baby a cookie to just shut up her whining, already.

Nor is bad mothering using cloth diapers. Or breastfeeding until the baby is 4. Or letting the baby sleep in bed with her parents. Or feeding the baby a vegetarian diet.

There are women out there who are bad mothers. There are mothers shooting up while their children die of starvation and neglect in the next room. There are mothers out there who stuff a pillow over their heads so they don’t have to listen to the whimpers from their 8 year olds while their fathers sodomize them. There are mothers out there who abandon their children on the street because they no longer wish to care for them. There are women who slowly twist their children’s limbs until they snap while their children cry and beg, promising to be good.

Bad mothers.

Yes.

But most of us are not.

At some point along the line, women in the Western world stopped trusting their instincts. We began to listen to doctors. We eagerly read studies and books that would confirm to us that yes, we were good mothers!

And worse, we began to betray each other. We began to gather in camps, and we set up rules for what constituted good mothering. And any mother who strayed outside those rules was a bad mother. We’d sit together over tea and discuss in outraged tones the ignorant woman down the street who bottle-fed her child from birth, smugly asserting our superiority in breastfeeding our own children for months and years. We’d converse over a power lunch about the poor deluded woman who quit her high-profile job so she could stay home and finger-paint, rolling our eyes and congratulating ourselves on our excellent luck in nannies. We’d snipe over email and on message boards, on blogs and over the phone.

Look at me! I am a better mother! And I can prove it to you by surrounding myself with other mothers who think just like me! I can prove it by shoving these books in your face! I can prove it by demeaning other mothers who have made different choices than mine!

Why are we doing this???????? ????????? ???

Why can’t we feel confident in our own mothering choices? Why do we feel such a need to prove ourselves through book after book and scorn directed towards other mothers?

Ask yourself, and be honest. When was the last time you criticized another mother in your mind? Was it today? Was it yesterday?

The next time you hear yourself making a nasty comment about another mother…stop. Just stop. And ask yourself – is she really a bad mother? Does she abuse her child? Does she neglect her child? Co-sleeping is not abuse. Bottle-feeding is not neglect. Think about what is coming out of your mouths and what your typing over message boards.

Do not diminish the pain of a child who sleeps chained in a closet, ribs cracked from her latest beating by equating her to a child who has learned to sleep by crying it out for a few nights in her crib. Do not diminish the pain of a child who has been sexually abused by equating her to a child that sleeps peacefully between her loving parents or still breastfeeds at 2 and 3 years old. Do not diminish the pain of a child who has not eaten for days by equating her to a child who is not fed meat or who drinks formula.

None of us perfect. None of us are. And we will all make mistakes. We will learn, we will revise our thinking; we will throw up our hands and let go of a long cherished ideal because we have just got to do it or collapse.

So how about instead of attacking other mothers, we start feeling confident about ourselves? How about we look to our own children instead of spending time self-righteously judging everyone else’s? Throw away your parenting books. Think about what your doctor tells you and evaluate what it means. When other mothers criticize you, shake it off and ignore the temptation to turn around and attack back.

Let’s try supporting each other for a change. I think it would make all of us better mothers to do so.”

6 comments

  1. gaurisunshine · September 19, 2010

    Whoah! Yes, that is powerful. That is true. That is crazy harsh… tough love like that of a good mother.

  2. motherwho · August 1, 2010

    Very glad I stumbled across this post… I am a new mother and never in my life have I come across such a competitive world as parenting… and an overwhelming amount of conflicting advice!!! Thanks for posting this and making me pause for a moment in amongst my parenting forums, books, friends and suggestions!!

  3. jllindberg · May 13, 2010

    Read this book! “Bad Mother” by Ayelet Waldman. Saved me…and my marriage. Literally! You will laugh your butt off and cry many tears with every chapter you read. It’s amazing and I recommend it to every mommy I meet. Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!

  4. halfpintpixie · July 26, 2007

    That’s a great post. We do need to remind ourselves every so often that we all want what’s best for our little ones. I think we’re all guilty of it, I get upset when criticised for cosleeping but at the same time I’ve been known to get on my high horse about women who won’t breastfeed!

    It’s humbling to remember that there are far worse things that could be going on and all of us good mamas should stop attacking each other over the little things!

  5. Chandra · July 21, 2007

    Amen to that. It is so easy to think the way I do things is the right way or to think of other people’s ways as silly or dumb. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately too. We as Moms are here for each other. I have seen people hurt by negative comments because they weren’t doing something the way of friend of their’s did. It is sad. Great post Jess.

  6. Coco · July 19, 2007

    Boy, did I need to read this today.

    My son is going through an awful biting stage, and I was reduced to tears yesterday by the smug, disapproving expressions on one of the worker’s faces at his daycare as I signed yet another incident report.

    Who was she to look down on me? I’m literally at my wit’s end with this dynamo child. I’ve read every “discipline” book on the shelf with exactly the same results: NADA. ;) And though I love him more than I love air, I don’t let him get away with murder; I run after him every minute of every day. I try everything I can to teach him to be nice, to have manners, to keep him safe and under control. But he’s a tough cookie and that’s just the way it is.

    Parenting a toddler is humbling. I remember my “Perfect Mommy Throne” from when I was pregnant. Boy did I tumble off it quickly. I’m trying to be much more compassionate toward other moms now. You never know what someone else is going through, what they’ve tried, what is going on.

    Thanks for a great post.

Leave a Reply

