Now Featuring: Lead for Your Lips

210lipstick1.jpg

Not to be outdone by our children’s toys Lipstick is making headlines for it’s lead content. A consumer rights group tested popular brands of lipstick and some of those popular brands came back with lead levels ranging from .03 – .65 parts per million (ppm). The US Food and Drug Administration has not set a limit for lead in lipstick.

Some argue the lead level in lipstick is insignificant and has no ill effect. Others argue that continued exposure can lead to learning and behavioral problems and that pregnant women and children are most at risk.

If it were me, I’d go with a brand that doesn’t use lead. It’s not necessary and make-up can be made without it. But then again I don’t wear make-up at all so my opinion is rather unhelpful. My reasoning for not wearing make-up would require another post. :)

2 comments

  1. Laini · October 15, 2007

    Glad I don’t wear make up either! “Some argue the lead level in lipstick is insignificant and has no ill effect.”, that’s so rich, what idiots.

  2. fortunecookie · October 14, 2007

    I just wanted to say thank you for keeping track of all the recalls for us. I know I can count on you to have the full info when I hear a glimpse of a new recall. You are appreciated !!

Leave a Reply

