Traditional German Potato Pancakes

This morning I was aching for something different for breakfast. Eggs have been really turning me off lately. I decided I was craving German Potato Pancakes and hunted the ‘net for a recipe. This is the one I settled on. This recipe serves 6. I halved the recipe and we had more than we could eat. They were yummy! :)

RECIPE:

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 6 medium potatoes, peeled and shredded
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, flour, baking powder, salt, and pepper. Mix in potatoes and onion.
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. In batches, drop heaping tablespoonfuls of the potato mixture into the skillet. Press to flatten. Cook about 3 minutes on each side, until browned and crisp. Drain on paper towels.

Tips:

-After you shred the potatoes if you think it will take you awhile you can store them in a bowl of cold water (this will help prevent oxidation). When you’re ready to mix them with the egg/flour mixture drain in a colander and then squeeze all the water out with paper towels or a cheese cloth if you have one. Even if you don’t need to keep them in the cold water I would still squeeze them in paper towels to remove excess moisture once you’ve shredded them. I didn’t do that with mine and I think they would have been crunchier if I had.

-After frying the first batch I decided I wanted more flavor. I added some onion and garlic powder. Next time I would probably just chop some more fresh onion and use fresh minced garlic. I also sprinkled the finished ones with a bit more salt.

-Traditionally potato pancakes are topped with sour cream and applesauce. I am sad to report that apparently I am not a traditionalist. I tried it and prefer mine with warm pure maple syrup. My daughter likes to dip hers in ketchup. They can also be savory and topped with cheese. Some like sour cream and chives. They are good for breakfast, lunch or dinner as the main course or as a side.

-These turn out best with fresh, raw shredded potatoes.  If you use the store bought pre-shredded kind make sure you get rid of the excess water as best as you can and add more flour.

-I started frying these with an electric skillet but found they worked better on my regular frying pan.

-You can pre-make these and then reheat them in the oven.

 

3 comments

  1. sheila Knapp · January 15, 2012

    My grandparents were from Germany and grew up on popato pancakes. I found using a cast iron skillit and bacon grease gives my potato pan cakes great flavor and a crispy outside. Just like my grandmother use to make.

  2. anja · January 13, 2012

    You are leaving out an important ingredient in german pancakes…marjoram!

  3. Kelley · May 13, 2011

    Reminds me of mutnal childhood.

Leave a Reply

