Banana Bread Muffins with Honey

Here is a yummy banana bread muffin recipe that uses Honey instead of sugar. I have all ready adjusted the recipe to account for using honey vs sugar so you can make the muffins, as is, and don’t need to do anything about the liquid, etc.

We are relishing all things carb this week because we will be looking to go on a gluten free diet for awhile which is going to very tough and I’m not really looking forward to it. More about the gluten free stuff later.

These muffins are so good just by themselves and a bit of butter but my friend Lisa had the killer suggestion of topping them with cream cheese frosting which then converts them into something evil and just as good as any cupcake. :) For cream cheese frosting just throw some plain cream cheese in a bowl, a bit of butter, some powdered sugar and vanilla and whip. No need to measure but if you want an actual recipe here is a good one.

Banana Bread Muffins with Honey

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup raw honey (or regular but raw tastes better)

3 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3 tbsp oil (vegetable or coconut)

1/2 cup milk

1 egg

3 very ripe bananas, mashed

Preheat oven to 325. Throw all of the ingredients into a bowl and whisk until mixed. Don’t overmix. Line muffin pan with muffin liners or grease pan. Fill to rim of liner or of muffin pan. Makes about a dozen muffins or if you want smaller muffins can make about a dozen and a half. Bake for about 30-45 minutes. Keep an eye on them. When they are golden and a toothpick or butter knife comes out clean they are done. Transfer muffins to wire rack to cool.

*These would be even better with a cup of chopped nuts but we don’t do nuts in our house.

9 comments

  1. Evelyn · June 12, 2015

    This is absolutely delicious, I bake it in a cake pan and my family loves it.

  2. Janice Dyment · January 1, 2015

    I just tried these, is it really 3 1/2 tsp of baking powder? seems to taste strange.

  3. merlie · October 11, 2014

    I am looking at mine in the oven now.I filled them to the rim like the recipe says and they seem to be rising too much over, If I like these and make them again I won’t fill them so full

  4. Spelling · January 23, 2014

    These are amazing!! I made them gluten-free using brown rice flour. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  5. Laura Button · April 25, 2013

    I baked these today and they were very good, but they stuck to the muffins cups. Is the honey causing them to stick to the paper?

  6. Angela · July 15, 2009

    I just baked these this afternoon, except I poured the batter into a 13 x 9. I also added an extra banana, and it turned out fine. I may never use sugar in my banana bread again! :)

  7. Darcy Gray · May 31, 2009

    I substitute a half cup of almond meal in the flour portion of the recipe, then add rasins. These muffins are great and super moist, and not too sweet.

  8. M Roe · December 5, 2008

    These will be easy to do gluten free – just substitute a gluten free flour mix (I mix sorghum, potato starch, tapioca starch and garbanzo) and add a little xanthan gum. I’m ready to go make them now!

    • Staci M · November 14, 2009

      did your gluten free version work or do i need to change any other ingredents? would like your help am new to gluten free cooking and hate to waste ingredents.

Leave a Reply

