The Passing of a Family Friend

We were informed just a few hours ago that a family friend was lost in a tragic and sudden accident. Terry Matthews, a long time family friend to Mike’s family and the former Bishop who officiated our Wedding passed away earlier today. He was riding his bicycle and was hit by a car. Terry was transferred to St. Joseph’s Hospital in Bellingham but did not make it. Our prayers and thoughts go out to his family.

Terry was one of the kindest and most Spirit filled men that I have ever met. He was a pivotal influence in my own Spiritual journey and one of the reasons I began to investigate The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. He and his wife were present at my Baptism nearly a year after our Wedding date. He will be missed but all that know him will take comfort in the fact that his Spirit carries on. I can only imagine what important tasks that our Heavenly Father has in store for him.

On a personal level I am reminded that our lives here are so precious and that our time is very limited. We don’t know the hour that we will be called home and we are wise to take the advice to live each day as if it were our last. To refine and establish our lives in such a way that they reflect the purpose for which we are here.

Bellingham Herald Article

One comment

  1. Christen · May 1, 2008

    Oh my gosh! I don’t even know if Doug knows yet! That is SO sad! I know what you mean about our time being limited; when Doug was hit on his bike I had a very real glimpse of that. So sad!

Leave a Reply

