Exciting News – TIME Magazine

Today I got some very exciting news. Some crazy things fell together and I have been interviewed to be in an article that will be featured in next month’s TIME Magazine! Their article addresses the AMA/ACOG resolutions that encourage legislation against lay midwives and home birth. TIME wanted to speak with women who were going to have their first home birth. Tomorrow, a photographer is being sent to my house to take pictures to go in the article. It is all very exciting and I am so happy to be able to speak out on home birth. The magazine is set to hit the stands on August 18th.

The picture above was taken today by my friend Shilowe. I will update the rest of the pregnancy photos that she took of me today at some point tomorrow.

Below is the resolution put forward by AMA (American Medical Association) and ACOG (American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists):


AMERICAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION HOUSE OF DELEGATES

Resolution: 205

(A-08)

Introduced by: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

Subject: Home Deliveries

Referred to: Reference Committee B

(Craig W. Anderson, MD, Chair)


Whereas, Twenty-one states currently license midwives to attend home births, all using the certified professional midwife (CPM) credential (CPM or “lay” midwives), not the certified midwives (CM) credential which both the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM) recognize[1]; and

Whereas, There has been much attention in the media by celebrities having home deliveries, with recent Today Show headings such as “Ricki Lake takes on baby birthing industry: Actress and former talk show host shares her at-home delivery in new film” [2]; and

Whereas, An apparently uncomplicated pregnancy or delivery can quickly become very complicated in the setting of maternal hemorrhage, shoulder dystocia, eclampsia or other obstetric emergencies, necessitating the need for rigorous standards, appropriate oversight of obstetric providers, and the availability of emergency care, for the health of both the mother and the baby during a delivery; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That our American Medical Association support the recent American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) statement that “the safest setting for labor, delivery, and the immediate post-partum period is in the hospital, or a birthing center within a hospital complex, that meets standards jointly outlined by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and ACOG, or in a freestanding birthing center that meets the standards of the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care, The Joint Commission, or the American Association of Birth Centers” [3] (New HOD Policy); and be it further

RESOLVED, That our AMA develop model legislation in support of the concept that the safest setting for labor, delivery, and the immediate post-partum period is in the hospital, or a birthing center within a hospital complex, that meets standards jointly outlined by the AAP and ACOG, or in a freestanding birthing center that meets the standards of the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care, The Joint Commission, or the American Association of Birth Centers.” (Directive to Take Action)


Fiscal Note: Implement accordingly at estimated staff cost of $1,929.

Received: 04/28/08


[3] http://www.acog.org/from_home/publications press_releases/nr02-06-06-2.cfm, accessed March 18,2008

6 thoughts on “Exciting News – TIME Magazine

  1. I agree with all of you in regards to the resolution. But if you stop and think about it, it is not shocking. They are trying to be on the offensive after the airing of the BOBB movie instead of on the defensive but really they come across looking defensive anyway.

    Thanks for all of your support. The picture shoot was fun and went great and the photographer was a really nice and fun guy, which was nice.

    I can’t wait to read the article in August. Crossing my fingers that it is intelligent and educational.

  2. I looooooove the picture. So beautiful. And you have such pretty hands. You gotta frame that.

    “… safest setting …”?! It makes me so mad I want to cry. Statistically, American hospitals aren’t anywhere near as safe for mothers and babies as Western Europe, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand. I can’t believe they have the gall to publish something like that.

    Well, I can, I guess. It’s all about the money. And male pride. It makes my blood boil.

    Every time I think of what would have happened if I had my first baby in a hospital, it scares me. ‘Cause she was a last-minute breech and I was a first-time mother, I would have been an automatic c-section but since she was born at home I had her vaginally, no problem (uhh, except for tearing).

  3. This is so very frustrating. The ability to choose how, where, when and why … should be a right.

    They tell us where how to live, how not to live, what medicines we need, where to live (in my case I have to live within the city limits or I’ll be fired), what we should eat, what we shouldn’t eat, where to send our children to school, and now where we are allowed to have our children.

    Sometimes all of the rules we live with really frustrate me.

    Nobody – not one single soul knows what is best for me and my family like I do and the choice should be mine.

  4. Good for you! I had one hospital birth (my first) followed by two wonderful home births… I am always amazed at the lack of confidence I see in many women in their ability to birth a child.

    I hope they don’t twist your words. My husband was once quoted in the NY Times and it wasn’t exactly what he said.

    Thanks for speaking out for homebirth.

Leave a Reply

