One Week Old

Garrett is a week old today. I cannot believe how fast this week has gone by. It is hard to put into words how wonderful it feels to become a mother again. It is hard to understand the love and the power that resides within it and how consuming and overpowering it is. Hard to understand how it is possible to love someone so much that you’ve just only met. How it is possible for my heart to open so wide and have enough room and love for both Camden and Garrett is beyond me. I suppose it is just one of those mysteries of Motherhood.

This week has gone by in a blur but it has been great. I am still on that “high” and I keep waiting to come down from it. There’s that constant bit of tiredness that accompanies a new baby but it is hard for me to get any extra sleep because I still sleep in such a light state because every little peep has me popping my eyes open.

There are so many things that are better this time around because I am more relaxed. I think my favorite is co-sleeping. With Camden I never intended to co-sleep. In fact, I swore to myself that I would never co-sleep when I was pregnant with her but wound up co-sleeping out of necessity because my little girl refused to sleep unless she was in my arms and she never slept for more than an hour and a half at a time and usually it was more like an hour. With Garrett I knew that I wanted to co-sleep again and it has been so wonderful, relaxing and natural. He sleeps so peacefully snuggled up against me and the best time of the day is in the early morning waking up to each other and just staring at one another and enjoying one another’s company. Garrett also loves skin to skin contact (Camden hated it) and this has been just another precious thing to enjoy with him.

I feel like a broken record but I love my little guy so much. He has funny little quirks (like hair on his earlobes and silly pinky toes that overlap his other toes) but he is just an absolute ball of perfection. For the first few days he didn’t like to open his eyes much and when he did he mostly just opened the right one. He still does that sometimes and I like to refer to it as his “pirate eye.” He also has the squeaky girlish squeal that is both hilarious and annoying. We keep joking with him that he better stop doing that before he meets his Uncle Dave or he’ll never live it down.

He is such a mild and calm little baby but for the first few days it was tough because he was having problems with his digestion and would scream at the top of his lungs when he had to have a bowel movement. It was so hard to witness because he would be peacefully sleeping and then just begin screaming and thrashing about and I knew something had to be wrong. I was so thankful that the chiropractic adjustment solved his digestive issues and he no longer wakes from sleeping and screams and the whole house is able to sleep much better now.

He does not have a very high frustration tolerance though and does not always give much warning that he is getting mad – all though this does seem to have gotten better since his adjustment yesterday. He seems pickier about what position he wants to be held in and if he starts to cry you have to be very quick or it will turn into a scream.

Yesterday, his umbilical cord fell off and so we were able to start using cloth diapers. Hooray! I love using cloth diapers which must seem so silly to some people. I have also started practicing EC with him part time and so far it is going really well. I’ll post more about the details of this later but so far today I caught quite a few of his bowel movements and a couple of his pees.

Garrett is also very strong. He almost rolled himself over yesterday when he got angry. He can also hold his head up really high and for quite a long time. I’m going to try to get a picture of it because Camden could hold her head up really well as a newborn too but he can hold his head up higher than she could at nearly 3 weeks old.

Garrett sleeps like a dream. I’m not counting on it staying this way and assume it is because he is just a very tired newborn but he will sleep for 3-5 hour stretches at night which is absolutely wonderful. He is nursing well now too. At first it took a bit of work because he was so tired the first few days and he also struggles a bit with a lazy latch and doesn’t like to open his mouth wide enough but he is getting the hang of it now. Engorgement is finally gone and I am very thankful for that.

Camden loves being a big sister. She is all ready getting protective over Garrett and made sure to tell Lisa when she visited that Lisa could not take Garrett home with her because it was “her” brother. So cute. She comes over to me periodically throughout the day to say hi to him and talk about how cute he is or give him hugs and kisses. First thing in the morning she comes into the room and every day this week she has said “where is my brother?” and I have to show him to her. I think she is afraid he’ll leave or disappear. Unfortunately, when he becomes mobile and can terrorize her possessions I think it will be less of a fear and more of a plea. LOL. I am surprised at how much Camden does not hover around and mess with him too much. It has been really nice for her to love on him and enjoy him but for her to still go about her regular activities.

So far Garrett seems to enjoy the car. He’s only been on two car rides but he’s handled it pretty well. Today we went out to dinner with the girls and took them to Sonic. I wore Garrett in the moby wrap and he slept the whole time. I cannot overemphasize enough what a lifesaver it is to have a wrap and to wear your baby.

I’m sure I could drone on and on and on about this little guy forever. I just can’t believe that Mike and I have a son. We feel so blessed and so overjoyed.

4 comments

  1. Charndra · February 17, 2009

    My little Man, Jett had a chiro check at a couple of days old – the dr was so pleased that he had a natural delivery at 4.350kg. The staff were so buzzed to see such a ‘freshie’ and I really wanted a tweak myself after he came out, LOL.

    He also sleeps for hours after a ‘tweak’ at the chiro.

    I wear him in a wrap, ringsling, mei tai and finally a pouch.

    I LOVE wearing a little baby again, and most of all I adore sleeping with him, pure baby bliss.

    Charndra.

  2. Brianne · August 23, 2008

    I’ll have to talk to you about slings/wraps/baby wearing sometime. I want to find a good sling for baby #2, although who knows when that will be, ugh. I’m glad to hear that you guys are doing so well. My BIL is going to chiropractic school right now, I need to remember to tell him about Garrett, he’ll be really excited.

  3. Sam · August 23, 2008

    awwww, I have four girls and they are past the baby stage… and there are days when I miss those moments. Congrats on the little man.

  4. Erika · August 23, 2008

    I found your blog a few days ago and I have really enjoyed reading it. I love how chubby and healthy he looks, especially for a week old baby! I still haven’t come down my my “high” and my baby girl is almost 11 months old! Isn’t it grand? My favorite time, too, is first thing in the morning before the rest of the house is asleep and my daughter and I just “are” and we enjoy each other’s silent company. And as for the cloth diapers…anyone that cloth diapers can relate…we love it! It does seem silly to like diapers so much, but they are so soft and a baby’s bum just looks so natural in them! Anyway, YAY for being one week old Garrett!

Leave a Reply

