The Happy Hangup

After much anticipation (and begging), Mike finally installed the hardware for the Happy Hangup in our room. We still need to get another chain so that we can install a second location in the playroom so that we can move it from room to room. Right now I just have a regular bed pillow in it so I’m not going to let Garrett sleep in it at night yet because it wasn’t designed to be used with a regular pillow and I’m afraid he could roll in it the way we have it set up right now. My friend Lisa is making me a square cushion to use and then we can try him in it at night.

The Happy Hangup is a hammock style bed for baby to use. It can be used up until about 40 pounds, I believe. It was made in Australia and is basically a large piece of fabric tied to a wooden frame and hung from a stud in the ceiling by a spring and chain. It can swivel and bounce and is great for babies with reflux or colicky babies. Garrett is neither but it is still great to have. Any little motion that he makes sets it to gently bounce and helps him to resettle.

It is ironic that I got this hammock bed for Garrett and that we didn’t have it for Cami because it is Cami that would have benefited the most from this thing. Garrett is sleeping anywhere from 5-5 1/2 hours at night without waking and then nurses, potties and goes back to sleep for another 2-3 hours. He is a dream sleeper. I prayed for a good sleeper this time but I’m afraid to give much thought to him staying this way and I assume all of this good sleeping will wear off after the newborn sleepy stage.

Anyway, here are some pictures. And yes, those are socks on his little hands. I hate the way the baby mitts cut into his wrists and he’s still pretty efficient as scratching himself, thus the socks:

5 comments

  1. cari · November 27, 2013

    hi what are the dimensions of the fabric? i am making one. thx

  2. sarahdoula · February 8, 2009

    Hi! I am wondering if your happy hangup is crimson or purple? It is hard to tell on the website what the colors really look like, and I am trying to choose which color to get. I love the color of yours!

    What a cutie! How is he liking the hh?

    Thanks,
    Sarah

  3. gfcfmom · September 13, 2008

    He’s so cute in his little hammock. Reminds me of my little guy.

  4. Andrea · August 24, 2008

    That sounds pretty neat, I will be curious to see how you guys end up liking it too. It can be hard to try to find something to mimic the womb besides having the baby actually on you. I love it that your so into baby stuff Jes. I love knowing I can look to you as such a good source especially when I have a newborn.
    I love the baby pics a few posts back that your friend did too, you both look so gorgeous, he is soo precious and your such a beautiful mother!

  5. avill7 · August 24, 2008

    Thanks for sharing these! Pea is a lot like you’ve described Camben to have been as a baby…I also pray for a dream sleeper for the next one! I’ve seen these and have thought about getting for the next baby, so I’ll be interested in seeing how you guys like it.

    Congrats on the new baby…he’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

