Little Tidbits

This post is just a bunch of random tidbits. Updates about Garrett and the family, etc.

First of all, I can not believe Garrett is all ready 3 weeks old. The time flies. He is growing so quickly. I weighed him today and he is exactly 12 pounds. His face is changing and it is neat to see his personality bloom. He started smiling on Thursday, which is wonderful. He has the most precious smile. I haven’t been able to get it on camera yet. Cami got to see him smile for that first time with me so that was special. I can’t wait to hear him laugh. Who wants to bet it will be Camden that gets him to laugh first? He is a roly poly little little thing and can roll from his side to his tummy or from his side to his back. He hasn’t yet rolled from his tummy to his back again but he’s been close.

Garrett is a pretty easy going little guy. He usually only squawks when he needs to go to the bathroom. He took to Elimination Communication (EC) like a pro. He is pretty good about letting me know when he has to go and he pretty much refuses to poop in his diaper. The only time he gets good and mad and cries his little heart out is when he has to poop. His tummy still hurts him sometimes when he has to go but he is starting to get the hang of it and about half the time he is calm through them.

Camden is still adjusting great to being a big sister. Camden says her favorite thing about having a little brother is that she gets to help “pick out his diapers. That is my favorite part about being a big sister, helping you.” How sweet is that? She is also a cloth diaper fanatic like me. LOL. I was antisipating a lot of regression from Camden and maybe it is too soon and the regression will come later but so far so good. She only slept in our room for those few nights when she was sick and then one other night she came in, in the middle of the night and told me that she didn’t, “want to be lonely” so we let her hop up into the bed with all of us. She is going to bed good at night and will even let Mike put her to bed, which is nice. There is a bit too much movie watching but I’m not going to worry about it right now.

The move to Bellingham is a bit stressful. Yesterday it looked like we weren’t going to be able to move directly to Bellingham and would have to move to Moses Lake for 6-9 months first and that really stressed me out. The hormones are definitely there because I had a hard time rationally talking about it with Mike and instead became a blubbering mess. Luckily there is no housing available in Moses Lake right now. All of the apartments are full and have a six month waiting list. So if we do move to Bellingham in October, which was the original plan, there is a chance that Mike might not have work right away. It looks like no matter what we do the transition isn’t going to go as smoothly as we hoped. Cross your fingers for us.

Next Thursday our ward at Church is going to throw Garrett a baby shower which is so sweet. I will try to get some pictures of that.

I swear I originally had a lot more to say but my brain isn’t working anymore, so that is all for now. Here are some pics:

2 1/2 Weeks, holding his head up so high!

Two weeks old

The Family Bed

Sweet Little Baby Hand

3 comments

  1. Charndra · January 22, 2009

    Hi, my newest little EC baby is 5 months old, wearing EcaPants as well, great things…

    He just squawked at me as I missed a wee by mere moments!

    Jett sleeps on his ‘fluff’ in our bed (a lambskin) That thing is GOLD.

  2. Angela · September 15, 2008

    I would love the hear more about what you did/how your doing EC!

  3. Melissa from Pittsburgh · September 15, 2008

    Ah … the family bed. I love it when we all snuggle together – although my girlys are getting so very big – I just need a bigger bed and lots of comfy soft blankies, oh, and the family = perfect.

Leave a Reply

