Bare Naked Cleaners

barenakedcleaners21-3

Bare Naked Cleaners offers a natural array of cleaning products that not only salvage your health and the environment but leave your home smelling wonderful and gets everything sparkly clean. Bare Naked Cleaners is owned and operated by Jen, a work-at-home-mom, who makes all of her cleaners herself out of natural ingredients.Reasons to use natural cleaners (click on the links to read)

How Toxic Are My Commercial Cleaning Products?

Human Health and Toxicology

The Scoop

For the last year or so I switched over from using commercial cleaners to clean my home and began using equal parts white vinegar and water and a few drops of eucalyptus pure essential oil in a plastic squirt bottle that I found at the Dollar Store. I was amazed to find how effective (and cheap) it was to clean your house with such basic ingredients. I loved that my daughter could help me clean the house and that there were no toxic fumes that I needed to worry about. Despite the benefits to using vinegar and water to clean my bathroom, kitchen, table, mirrors, etc I found that there were a few drawbacks. For me the biggest drawback was the smell. I HATE, HATE, HATE the smell of vinegar. I still remember hiding in my room when my Filipino grandmother mopped our wood floors with vinegar. It was putrid. So to switch over to using vinegar for cleaning my home was kind of tough. Using the Eucalyptus oil definitely helped with the smell but it definitely didn’t get rid of it. The second drawback was that as effective as the cleaner was there was just some things that it just wasn’t strong enough to handle. I have dealt with marks all over our kitchen table (pencil, pen, marker, crayon, etc) and kept telling myself I should find an old bottle of 409 (wherever it was hiding) and wipe down the table but I could never bring myself to go looking for it, or use it for that matter. There is also the matter of the bathtub. I don’t mind cleaning my house with one exception, I don’t do bathtubs. I just don’t like scrubbing them. So I make my husband do it and he uses the Comet Powder which smells like death in a bottle, if you ask me.

When Jen offered to let me test her Miraclean solution I jumped at the opportunity. Miraclean is an all purpose cleaner that is able to tackle everything from day to day cleaning tasks (even natural stone and glass) to hard to clean spots like carpet stains, rust and hard-water stains, upholstery and more!

Miraclean contains no phosphates, ammonia, butyl ether’s or chlorine bleach. They are 100% biodegradable, are scented with pure essential oils (synthetic fragrance oils are also available) and are great for people with asthma or sensitive skin.

Miraclean is made of the following ingredients:
water, vinegar, stain & soil removers, and a coconut derived cleaning agent

The Crunchville Experience

Diluting the Solution:

We received 2oz of the Miraclean concentrate in a small plastic bottle. The Miraclean concentrate came with instructions on how to dilute it.
testing-pictures-004

testing-pictures-005

First you shake the bottle vigorously to break down the solids. It says to shake for 30 seconds but I found I needed to shake it for longer.

testing-pictures-0171

Next, you pour the concentrate into a squirt bottle. You can purchase the Squirt Bottle through Bare Naked Cleaners or you can find them at places like the Dollar Store for, you guessed it, a dollar.

testing-pictures-030

After I poured the concentrate into the squirt bottle I realized that there was a large solid clump still left in the bottle. I used a toothpick to break it up enough so that it would come out of the small hole of the concentrate bottle. I then poured the clumps into the squirt bottle with the rest of the concentrate. I didn’t worry about the clumps because I figured they would dissolve in the warm water that you are supposed to use to dilute the solution.

I added the warm water to the bottle and then shook it. Done. It was simple enough. I was ready to go on a cleaning extravaganza.

testing-pictures-038

The Smell:

We received the Miraclean solution in a fragrance called “Pink Sugar.” I wish I had a picture for how yummy this stuff smells. Oh wait, this would work…

pic_693015001184863633

Truly Pink Sugar smells of heavenly scrumptious cotton candy goodness. It has a warm yummy sugary smell that makes me want to lick my counters after I use it. I can see it now, women all across America licking their counters when no one is looking. Okay, maybe not because that’s a little gross but it smells so yummy!

Pink Sugar is one of the scents that is made out of synthetic fragrance oils. Currently Bare Naked Cleaners carries 22 scents derived of fragrance oils. All of them sound wonderful. Things like: warm vanilla sugar, Japanese cherry blossom, hot apple pie, cucumber melon and clean cotton to name a few.

For those who prefer essential oils she carries 100% pure essential oils in 9 different varieties. You also have the option of combining multiple essential oils for a nominal fee.

Cleaning Power:

My first cleaning goal was the kitchen. Miraclean easily tackled the kitchen and had no problem getting my counters clean. While cleaning my kitchen I was also making spaghetti sauce and some of it spilled on the stove-top and dried. Miraclean wiped up the sauce easily. The best part? The warm stove-top combined with the pink sugar scent filled the kitchen with a divine smell.

testing-pictures-042

testing-pictures-048

Next, I decided to tackle the bathroom. It was able to clean the counter, sink, faucet and toilet without a glitch. I sprayed the mirror and it was able to clean the mirror beautifully without any streaking as long as I made sure I wiped the mirror until it was dry. Since the Miraclean description said it was powerful enough to clean rust stains I decided to try and give the electric baseboard heater in the bathroom a try even though it was extremely rusted. I was pretty impressed that it was able to wipe up almost all of the rust all though the heater still looks just as ugly because the paint is still missing but at least it was able to get off the rust.

My last cleaning goal of the day was to wipe up our wooden kitchen table and chairs which had stains all over it. Even though I have really enjoyed using vinegar and water to clean my house over the last year it has fallen short on being able to remove all of the various marks on our kitchen table that my daughter is able to grace it with.

testing-pictures-061

testing-pictures-073

I was quite shocked to find that if I let the Miraclean solution sit on these “stains” for 15-20 seconds or so that they came completely off the table. Some of these marker and crayon marks had been on the table for more than six months because I was not able to get them off the table with the vinegar/water solution that I’d been cleaning with. With the Miraclean solution I was able to remove every single mark on the table, as well as the chairs.

testing-pictures-083
testing-pictures-086

Camden wanted to clean too so I turned over the Miraclean and paper towels to her.

testing-pictures-090
testing-pictures-100

testing-pictures-102

Wrapping it Up

Suggestions, Observations and Wishes:

– I’d love to see the Miraclean concentrate bottles come with larger openings so that it is easier to get any lingering clumps out of the bottle.

– All though ultimately it is not important it would be nice to see some labels that were more colorfast (the one I had, the ink bled) and perhaps labels that were a little more aesthetically pleasing. Of course, this might have the result of increasing the cost and in the end I’d rather have a product that was more affordable than a pretty label.

– I’d also appreciate the ability to purchase Miraclean in a larger bulk amount. Say in, 8oz or even 16oz. I have noticed that since we switched to using natural based cleaners and that I use the same cleaner for almost all of my cleaning jobs that I clean more often and I know personally we go through a squirt bottle of cleaner about every 1 1/2 to 2 months. I would rather spend a larger amount and buy in bulk than to keep reordering or to purchase many small bottles. Plus, this saves on waste. Perhaps the larger bulk bottles could be marked on the outside in 2oz increments so that you would know how much concentrate to pour out to make 32oz of the diluted solution. I think the 2oz concentrate size should still be kept for those who don’t want to order in bulk or who want to try the product first before buying in bulk.

-I’m not sure how feasible or possible this would be but it would be great if there was a way to smell all of the scents. Perhaps by putting a few drops on cotton balls or paper the scent samples could be sent out with orders (if requested) so that the customer would have the ability to try new scents before making their next purchase. I know that personally once I find a scent I like I’m a bit too afraid to take a chance on another scent I might not like. Some of the scents sound fantastic but I admit that since I love the way that Pink Sugar smells so much that I hesitate to try something else.

Overall:

I think this cleaner is fantastic. Miraclean is not only effective at cleaning but it stole my heart by smelling wonderful and nothing like Vinegar or harsh chemicals. I appreciate that it is more powerful than the vinegar/water combination that I was making myself and again I LOVE that it doesn’t smell like vinegar. Did I mention it doesn’t smell like vinegar? Seriously though, this stuff is great. I am all ready putting in an order for more and I’m going to try some of the other cleaners that Jen sells as well. In the end Miraclean is more expensive than making your own vinegar/water cleaning solution but I’d have to conclude that it is worth it. You are getting a product that is more powerful, that smells better and that easily rivals commercial cleaners if that is what you are currently using.

8 comments

  1. kookimebux · February 1, 2009

    Hello. And Bye. :)

  2. bare naked cleaners · December 30, 2008

    Lisa, the coconut derived cleaning agent is NOT sodium lauryl sulfate. I make a concentrated castile soap using coconut oil, and that is the basis of my cleaners. Hope that helps answer your question.

    Jen

  3. Pingback: Michiko Baby - Portable Chalkbooks « Journey To Crunchville
  4. Lisa · November 25, 2008

    Hey mama…….can you see if that “coconut derived cleaning agent” is sodium lauryl sulfate???

  5. Pingback: Miraclean Giveaway « Journey To Crunchville
  6. Beth · November 21, 2008

    LOL – Hey those face masks might have mercury in them!!! LOL

    When you have time – I’ll keep whining till then :)

  7. journeytocrunchville · November 21, 2008

    Trust me. I meant to have it done by now. This whole teething thing isn’t quite working out for me. Garrett is very needy these days. In the meantime just buy some face masks and don’t leave your house. Kidding. :)

  8. Beth · November 21, 2008

    Jessipedia says its good – and so I shall go order (cuz I’m a sheep like that..lol).

    I was JUST looking for a more healthy cleaner – your blog is JUST in time!

    Now – can I beg again for a blog on natural ways to keep everyone healthy through cold/flu season? Please pretty please with pink sugar cleaner on top :)

Leave a Reply

