Homemade Oreo Cookies

garrett-newborn-pics-001

I’m still chuckling over the hugeness of this picture but alas, these cookies deserve to be in the spotlight. If you haven’t noticed yet, I have a soft spot for all things sweet and chocolaty. I suppose it is also contributing to my physical soft spot but details, shmetails. We have been making soft homemade oreo cookies for a few years from a cake box recipe that I received from Mike’s mom. They are pretty good but I have really been trying to move away from boxed anything and so one night I spent an exorbitant amount of time hunting for a good homemade version. I stumbled upon the recipe that I am going to share today and I LOVE IT! They are a lot different from the other version but I really like them because they more closely resemble an Oreo than the soft oreo counterparts.

The picture above was from the last time I made these cookies which happened to be the day before Garrett was born. I meant to post this recipe way back then but Garrett has had other things in mind. The last time we made these cookies I made half the batch regular and the other half with mint extract and some natural green food dye. Tomorrow the girls and I are going to make some of these for Christmas except for this time I am going to use peppermint extract and crunch up some natural candy canes and put them in the frosting as a tribute to my new favorite Candy Cane cookies from Trader Joe’s. I’ve also considered doing some dipped Oreo’s but for now I think I’ll stick with the Candy Cane ones. I’ll post pics when we finish them.

For now here is the recipe. Enjoy!

garrett-newborn-pics-013

Homemade Oreo Cookies

Makes 25-30 cookies


For the Cookie:

1 1/4 cup Flour

1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch Process Cocoa

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 – 1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 stick) room temperature butter

1 large egg

For the Frosting:

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) room temperature butter

1/4 cup vegetable shortening

2 cups sifted confectioners sugar (powdered sugar)

2 tsp vanilla extract.

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375.

2. Mix flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt and sugar. While pulsing (or on low speed), add the butter and then the egg. Continue processing or mixing until dough comes together in a mass.

3. Take rounded teaspoons (or larger, just depends on how big you want your cookies) of batter and place on parchment paper lined baking sheets approximately 2 inches apart. With moistened hands, slightly flatten the dough (I had success by cooking these on our baking stone and flattening with a parchment paper lined glass to get them uniformly round and flat).

4. Bake 9 minutes, rotating once for even baking. Set baking sheets on a rack to cool.

5. To make the cream filling, place butter and shortening in a mixing bowl. On low speed gradually beat in the sugar and vanilla. Turn the mixer on high and beat for 2-3 minutes until filling is light and fluffy.

5. To assemble cookies put filling in a  pastry bag with a 1/2 inch, round tip (or use a gallon size ziploc bag and snip off the corner). Pipe a teaspoon sized amount of filling onto a cookie and place another cookie (of equal size) on top. Lightly press to work the filling evenly to the outside of the cookie. Continue until cookies or frosting is gone.

6. Eat the cookies! I love to have extra cookies because they make the BEST ice-cream sandwiches. The best I tell you! Simply put your favorite ice cream in the middle of them. Wrap with plastic wrap and put it in the freezer for a few hours and then devour.

Tips:

Yes, you should use vegetable shortening. I try to avoid it too but really it is a somewhat necessary evil in these cookies to achieve the right consistency with the frosting. I have also used the Spectrum version of shortening and this worked pretty well. Lard would also work.

-The type of cocoa you use does make a slight difference because of the way the dutch cocoa affects the alkalinity of the cookies. If you can’t find the dutch process cocoa then you could also use Hershey’s Special Dark. If you don’t have that either you can use regular cocoa but your cookies may be puffier. They’ll still taste delish though!

-If you are going to make mint or peppermint filling omit the vanilla and replace with 1/2 teaspoon of pure mint or pure peppermint extract. Trust me you don’t need more than 1/2 teaspoon.

-The sugar content in the actual cookie (1 to 1 1/2 cups) should be adjusted based on how sweet you want your cookie. I prefer to use only 1 cup because I think it is plenty sweet with just the one cup.

-For a gluten free version go HERE.

I found the recipe HERE. Originally the recipe appeared, HERE.

9 thoughts on “Homemade Oreo Cookies

  1. oh my this is absolutely whaT I need..
    My bf n my brother loooves oreo but then they had to eat the unhealthy factory-produced one.

    hope I can successfuly make this homemade ones.
    Thankyou..^^

  2. I’ve made these 2 days ago for my 3 and 5 years old sons.
    They loved it. It was easy to make. Thank you for this great recepie.

  3. btw, expeller pressed coconut oil doesn’t have any flavor. it’s what i use in most of my baking. i pretty much just use virgin coconut oil for raw applications (smoothies, stuff like that). as long as it’s quality & truly expeller pressed, it’s still a “healthy fat”. the virgin just has the added bonus of being anti-microbial & all that, but that’s taken away when cooked, so might as well use the flavorless expeller pressed. :)

    i haven’t tried these yet, but i do plan to!

  4. Thank you Thank you Thank you.

    This is perfect. PERFECT.

    I’m having an after Christmas tea party for some of the girlys friends and most of them are doing Feingolds (and I’m working on it – very hard – trying to get there)….anyway, these are perfect!

    Thanks again!

  5. I haven’t tried it yet but I was just thinking last night that it would probably work. My concern is that you would definitely have a coconut flavor to the frosting which might not mix nicely with mint or peppermint. I’m sure it would mix okay with the plain vanilla flavored frosting.

    Also, right now I can’t eat coconut or coconut oil as it appears my son might be sensitive to it and we’re doing an elimination diet to find out. However, I am thinking it might work consistency wise, even better than shortening which is softer than coconut oil at room temp.

    I have some extra spectrum shortening if you want to use some, it is organic and doesn’t have any hydrogenated oils in it. Just give me a call or email me. :)

Leave a Reply

