Getting Back In the Saddle

I’ve been hesitant to start blogging again. I suppose there are various reasons for that.

For a long time it was because the children were having so many health issues, thankfully that has all settled and despite Garrett having lingering food allergies I have better learned to cope with them. Camden seems to be doing just fine. But wow, talk about a rough year.

We had an excellent summer and with fall coming I am trying to switch gears. I have been putting more thought into our home life and into the type of educational dynamic that I’d like for the kids to have in our home. I’ve made a more concerted effort to set up our home and our daily activities to allow for a more rich exposure to learning. We plan on “homeschooling” our children all though my intent is not to have a “now it is time to sit down at the kitchen table and have school kids” type of homeschooling. I’m not entirely sure how it’s going to go yet (Camden is only 4, after all) but I do know that for now we are exploring life based on her interests with me exposing her to all sorts of things. I have really enjoyed reading the original Hans Christian Andersen fairytales to her. We are doing all sorts of other things too. Right now Camden is into learning about snakes and so we have several books checked out from the library. Her favorite are boa constrictors. She finds snakes fascinating which is interesting for a little girl who is all about princesses and feelings. LOL.

I have also been working on getting back in touch with myself. I realized that over the last several years that I have been neglecting myself, not only physically but in other ways as well. I basically always put myself last and I realized that really wasn’t helping anyone. So now I am working on a Jessica overhaul, which is nice for a change. I’ve started doing something I never would have imagined myself doing. I’ve started…….RUNNING! Insane, yes. I never, ever would have imagined myself as a “runner” but I guess it is so. I’ve been running for a little over a month now and am so pleased with the results. I feel better, look better, am losing weight, my metabolism is improving, etc. My goal is to start doing some races next spring. Crazy. Crazy. I joined a “biggest loser” contest to keep myself motivated and that ends in November. So far I have lost 12 pound! :) I also got a hair cut recently which I’ve desperately been needing. I absolutely love it and have wanted it this short for a long time but dread the prep work that it takes to blow dry and straighten it but I decided it was worth it. My next goal is spiritual and I am working on preparing myself for a temple recommend which is very exciting for me.

I really want to thank everyone for being so patient with me about the blog. I am excited to begin blogging again and hope to do so regularly. The health blog is probably going to stay inactive as there really isn’t much to post on there anymore. If I get motivated enough I will post about what happened in Seattle. Basically nothing. We went in for lots of appointments, Garrett had an endoscopy which came back inconclusive. He had mild inflammation but  not enough to diagnose him with anything. We are supposed to go back if he gets worse. I am working on using enzyme therapy with him to help combat the allergies. More on that another time. :)

There aren’t many pictures of me on this blog because I’m always the one taking pictures. Here is a picture of me with my new haircut. Not a very good quality picture since I took it in the mirror with a flash, but oh well.

003

3 comments

  1. Nicole :) · September 21, 2009

    Jessica, I am so excited for you about all of the things you are doing for yourself! The temple recommend is fantastic…I am so happy for you deciding to get it. And running…yeah! I know exactly how you feel about not imagining yourself running…I was always the slowest one in PE and on my softball team, but when I started running after Weston was born, I ended up being the fastest in my fitness class (after a year of hard work)! But I am far from that right now. I don’t know if I can say that I like running mentally, but I think my body likes it. Hearing you say all of the great things it is doing for you makes me want to get back into it too! I ran on my treadmill last week…until the babies started crying! And a girl at church does a great fitness class at church two days a week, so I went to that for the first time today and really loved it. Probably won’t be walking tomorrow tho. lol. But it is hard for me to actually DO it…I like thinking about it but actually DOING it sucks, especially when my body is out of shape. I think that is the worst, because I know it is going to be hard at first. Maybe we can run a race together next year? I did my first 5k last year…I would love to try and beat my time. I hope that I can motivate myself to get back to that point; the getting started is the hardest for me. But I love having a healthy heart, low blood pressure, low pulse and respirations, faster metabolism, all of that. See how excited you got me?! Now I just need to do it every day! I wish you lived here again so we could go together. I love your hair, and your face already looks thinner! Go girl! Miss you tons.

  2. journeytocrunchville · September 21, 2009

    I would love your help with family history Brianne! And I really, really appreciate your support. It will be great if you can go when I make it there. :)

  3. Brianne S. · September 21, 2009

    LOVE the hair!!! You look awesome! That’s so cool that you’re working on getting your temple recommend. Let us know when you go and we’ll make sure we’re there (unless I’m in the middle of having a baby or something ;-)). Also, if you want some help with your family history and getting names ready for the temple let me know.

Leave a Reply

