Climbing Back on the Wagon

My cousin has pleaded with me to start blogging again. So, like I promised, here I am. :)

Part of the reason I stopped blogging is because I really just can’t find the time to do the research and write the articles that I used to write and that was my favorite part about blogging. Really, all I have time for these days is to do family updates and I didn’t figure anyone wanted to read about those or if they did, they could  catch up with us on Facebook. Nevertheless, I will try to do better at keeping this blog active. It was such a big part of my life for so long and I do miss it.

I will start first by announcing that we are expecting another baby! We are due late November or early December from what we’re able to tell. We will go in on the Wed, May 19th to try and listen for the baby’s heartbeat. I am currently 11 weeks along. The first trimester was a breeze. In fact, I had no idea I was pregnant until I was 9 weeks and took a pregnancy test. LOL. I didn’t really start having any symptoms until a few days after the test and didn’t start getting nausea until a few days ago so I’m not completely convinced that I am 11 weeks along. I think it is possible that my uterus is measuring large and that this will be a late December baby like Camden. I guess only time will tell.  I have started to “pop” however. Here is a picture I took today.

Camden was over the moon excited when we announced to her that we were going to have a baby. We told her at a family gathering for Mother’s Day and we let her be the one to announce it to both mine and Mike’s families. She is so excited to be a big sister again and is hoping for a sister.  We have also told Garrett that there is a baby in mommy’s tummy and he will point to my tummy throughout the day and say, “baby!” and then “baby, nee nee!” since we told him that when the baby is born the baby will nurse. At this point, Garrett is still nursing and as much as I’d like to wean him for my own sake with all of his allergies he is just not getting enough nutrition through food and nursing is still the best way to get him the nutrients he needs. I never intended on tandem nursing (in fact, I really don’t like the idea at all) but logically I can not think of a good reason not to since it is still very important that he nurse.

Here is a recent picture of me and the kids at the Tulip Festival. My friend Shilowe took this picture when she was in town visiting in early April. Turns out I was pregnant when she was here and didn’t have any idea. LOL.

I have finally purchased all of the items (well, except for the seeds) that we need for our garden and I’m really excited to get it all put together this weekend. This is our first garden. I decided to go with the square foot gardening method. Camden is really excited to plant some veggies and flowers and I’m looking forward to all of the yummy food.

Garrett has started sleeping in Camden’s room with her. Well, okay, let me rephrase. Garrett has started sleeping in the “kids” room since it is supposed to be both of their rooms and has been sleeping on the bottom bunk bed. I’ve weaned him from nursing at night and he is doing pretty good sleeping in there. It was his idea to sleep on the bunk bed. Sniff. Sniff. They grow up so quick. He is still waking up every 2-3 hours but that is mostly because I am having to retrain him on the no nursing at night thing since he recently had an illness and when he is sick we forget about the no nursing at night rule and he can nurse as much as he wants. I stop nursing him when he falls asleep (I nurse him to sleep) and then he doesn’t nurse again until the sun comes up since time is still obviously arbitrary to him. When we get back to the point of nursing in the morning I have been bringing him in bed with me because I can’t stand having to get up out of bed over and over. Seriously, how moms that don’t co-sleep cope the first year with all the night waking is beyond me. I dislike oh so very much getting out of bed when he wakes up and I can’t stand that panicky adrenaline rush when I am startled awake by his cry. It’s funny though, I am just surprised how ready he is to transition to his own bed. I was also shocked at how well he did nightweaning. I thought it was going to be a really hard process for him because of his personality. Anyone who has met him probably understands what I am referring to. Underneath that amazingly cute little smile of his is a whiny clingy mama’s boy. The good news is that he appears to be growing out of it. I knew that he would someday I just wasn’t sure if that someday was going to be in my lifetime. LOL.

Camden is getting so big too. It’s hard for me to imagine what it would be like to send her off to Kindergarten next fall to disappear for a full day of school. We are homeschooling her, however, so we won’t be doing that anyway but still to realize she will be that old soon is strange. Especially since it doesn’t seem like that long ago that I was pregnant with her. Camden is a beginning reader and read her very first book a month or so ago. It was called, “Stop the Tot!” She really seems to like reading but she does get easily frustrated if she makes a mistake and rather than just reading the particular word over she has to go back and read it from the start of the page and do it all over. Trust me, not my idea…all hers. She is somewhat of a perfectionist unless I’ve asked her to do something (like say, clean her room) and then she is a minimalist. :)

Well that is all I can think of for now.

3 comments

  1. Amy Reid · May 24, 2010

    Hey there! Again, Jealous of your pregnancy and happy for you guys at the same time. But I was talking to the other nursery leader yesterday and she said the baby hungry feeling never goes away. So maybe my feelings of me being done after Owen was born are true and I’m just a normal woman that can’t help but yearn for babies and pregnancy.
    Also, I too am a mother that got up every 2-3 hours with babies. I guess I just got used to it. And for me it’s much easier than training them to be in their own beds after a couple years. And I was blessed with two out of the three babies that just didn’t like to sleep with me or in our room at all. Jaxon and Owen both would sleep much better in a crib from day one. But to each his own and it sounds like Garrett is doing just fine at night now.
    Let me know how your ultrasound goes this week!

    Amy

  2. Brianne · May 13, 2010

    I’m way better at keeping up on people through their blogs than via Facebook. And I’m more into the family updates too.

    To answer your question about how some moms can go without co-sleeping… I only get up 1-2 times a night with Lauren (now 5 months), and I only feed her one of those times. I keep her monitor low, so I only wake up if she’s truly awake. Since it’s not a loud cry I’m hearing, I don’t feel panicked. So that’s how I do it :-).

    It was fun to see you guys last weekend!

  3. GFCFmom · May 13, 2010

    I am happy you have started blogging again and thrilled to hear you are expecting again. I really relate to your not having enough time to do the research part of your blog. I have the same issue and don’t really know what to do about it.

Leave a Reply

