Garlic Soup

Just in time for cold and flu season. My friend Lisa shared this recipe with us a few months ago and I haven’t had a reason to make it until now.

Yesterday I came down with a killer cold that knocked me down pretty hard. I don’t get sick that often but with surgery not that long ago my immune system is probably still recovering from that. I also haven’t had any raw milk for about a week and a half because we’ve been gone for the holidays and that usually seems to help me ward off the illnesses around me. As I was suffering through my all over body aches and green slime congestion it dawned on me that other than popping vitamin c, echinacia, grape seed and probiotics I could probably knock this thing with some garlic soup.

So, I set off to make Lisa’s soup. I had everything I needed except for the cayenne pepper. I wound up substituting paprika instead. One garlic smelling house later I finished the soup. It was pretty darn good considering I’m not a humongous garlic fan. Lots of salt was the key for me. Next time I think I will add some steamed chopped broccoli and carrots and maybe some corn since I like really hearty soups. But I am starting to feel better all ready. Apparently garlic can do magic for your health.

Here is the recipe for anyone interested. I highly suggest it. It is also a very healthy soup.

Garlic Soup

1 TBSP Olive Oil

12 cloves fresh garlic plus another head of garlic

2 large onions

1/4 tsp dried thyme or 1 tsp fresh

2 cups chicken broth

1 pinch cayenne pepper

1 TBSP fresh Basil

Sea salt (or regular salt)

 

Directions:

1. Roast a head of garlic. For directions on doing this go HERE.

2. While the garlic is roasting. Peel and thinly slice your onions. Then peel and thinly slice your garlic cloves. Pound the cloves with the side of a large knife to more easily remove the peel.

3. Add garlic and onion to a large saucepan with oil. Cover and saute for about 25 minutes on low, or until they are cooked through and almost translucent.

4. Put the cooked onion and garlic into a blender with 1/2 cup of the chicken broth and the thyme. Puree.

5. Put puree back into saucepan. Add remaining 1 1/2 cups chicken broth. Simmer for 20 minutes.

6. Stir in cayenne, basil and salt to taste. More is better ;) Heat 2 more minutes.

7. Enjoy with crusty bread and maybe top with some cheese or add in some veggies.