Riding the Birth High

Early this morning I witnessed a true miracle, the birth of a child. My friend Emeth, labored into the night last night surrounded by her family, friends and midwife and delivered her son at 3:58 am. I feel so blessed to have attended such a beautiful and spiritual event. Her son, Valor Zurishaddai (last name omitted) was born weighing 8 lbs 11 ozĀ  (the same weight Camden was) and 20.5 inches long. He was born into water in the comfort of their home. He has an amazing full head of dark hair and my first impression was that he looks a lot like his sister, Rinah.

It was the first birth (other than Camden’s) that I have been able to witness in its entirety. Truly the power and beauty of women’s bodies when encouraged and supported to carry out their nature is awe inspiring. Thank you again Emeth for letting me be there. I will never forget it.

I am excited and amazed that I will have the priveledge of birthing my own baby next month.